A Blog Eh?

“A blog eh?” is what my father said to me when I told him I was starting one. Clearly he thinks blogging is not the best way to spend one’s free time. He was even more cynical once I told him it would be about gaming (another not so great way to spend ones free time).  *Psssh* What does he know anyway, but as I sat down to begin writing I was wondering if he may not be right after all. *Gulp* Well here goes …

WELCOME

Welcome to my blog! That’s seems so weird to say, me a blog? Why are these first posts so awkward? Well let me just get right down to it. I love video games. It’s a great way to unwind after a hard day and you meet many interesting people along the way, some of which end up becoming friends for life. It was always a dream of mine to start a blog about the games I play but let’s face it putting your thoughts out to the world can be nerve-wracking. So I decided to start of with the Sims3 because out of all the games I play, I have been playing the Sims series for the longest.

My first sim ever created was Ying-Ling (actually I tried making my sim-self first but it turned out horribly). So my first SUCCESSFUL sim was Ying-Ling.

Ying-Ling

She was also the first sim I created when launching Sims3 and I played her exclusively for close to a year.

Recreating her, giving her different traits, different careers, different partners and then something happened a couple months ago. I got bored. She had done pretty much everything there was to do! I stared at her, she stared at me, we stared at each other “Now what?” I tried creating another sim to play but I got bored of her too.

TO THE FORUMS

I’m not really a forum person. I had never even visited the Sims3 official website since buying the base game, so I had no idea there was an official sims3 forum. I decided to poke around. Wow! there were so many interesting posts to read! OMG look there is a HUGE thread dedicated to interesting things in the sims3. Did you know there is a bat sleeping under the trampoline from generations? SAY WHAT?! There is this stuff called custom content that can give you more gameplay options? WAY COOL! There are people writing stories from their gameplay, creating sims and houses and MODELING and magazines and legacies and challenges! There was so much to do!! I wanted to be a part of that!

Since becoming part of the community on the official forums I have found so much more enjoyment from my game. I never get bored anymore. I’m creating different sims and am actually enjoying playing with them, creating lots and patterns ( never even knew about create a style before joining the forums) I just entered my first competition and now I’m writing a blog! What a transformation! I feel so at home and I would like to thank everyone in the community for bringing the excitement back into my game!

So this is an extremely long post for my first time so I’ll attempt to work on that for next time. Here are some cookies for you if you read the whole thing, I truly appreciate it. Eating cookieEating cookie You definitely need some sustenance after reading all that rambling.

If you would like to connect with me on the official forums here is a link to my MyPage Nonyabizznazz Please feel free to add me as a friend. Also subscribe for blog updates (which I will try to do as regularly as my schedule allows) and leave a comment 🙂

Happy Simin’

Photobucket

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. allykgamer
    May 26, 2012 @ 21:56:36

    Thanks for reading and don’t forget to leave a comment!

    Reply

  2. Ceres
    May 26, 2012 @ 22:22:44

    It’s a beautiful blog!!! I hope it continues to make you happy, and that it is very successful! Wonderful start!

    Reply

  3. Cancy
    May 26, 2012 @ 22:25:05

    Very good post for a first time blogger. 😀 I can see this blog will be a good read!

    Reply

  4. allykgamer
    May 27, 2012 @ 10:45:56

    Thanks for the kind words! I will do my best 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

